Back to Previous

York Symphony Orchestra's Mahler’s 4th Symphony

50 N George St, York, PA 17401

February 10, 2024


7:30 p.m.

Tickets start at $11, and Under 18 tickets are $11.

Presented by: York Symphony Orchestra

Location: Appell Center for the Performing Arts


The York Symphony Orchestra presents Mahler’s 4th Symphony: Heavenly Voices concert with in-person theatre seats and 48-hour digital access options. Tickets start at $11!

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Vorrei spiegarvi, oh Dio! (Let me explain, oh God!)

Hildegard Von Bingen: ‘Rainbow Body Theme’ from Ave Maria, O auctrix vite

Christopher Theofanidis: Rainbow Body

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 4

This concert highlights composers from Gustav Mahler to Christopher Theofanidis that were inspired by the dreamland of heaven. Influenced by German folk poetry and his childhood, Mahler’s famous Fourth Symphony tells a tale of purely innocent joy and heavenly enchantment. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote the aria, Vorrei spiegarvi, oh Dio, to complement his sister-in-law’s vocals – opening softly with a melody and then culminating in a challenging finish. Moved by Hildegard von Bingen, Christopher Theofanidis developed Rainbow Body by weaving section from von Bingen’s Ave Maria for grace among restless, stirring sections.

Tickets start at $11, and Under 18 tickets are $11.

You can purchase tickets online or through the Appell Center Box Office. You can visit or call the box office at 717-846-1111. The box office is open Monday-Friday from 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. as well as two hours before a performance.