As businesses and attractions in York County adapt to COVID-19, we strive to keep each other safe by wearing masks in public and practicing social distancing. To learn more about these and other guidelines, please visit our COVID-19 Resources page.

Stay Informed
Back to Previous

Dvorak & Strauss: Digital Concert

March 13, 2021 - March 15, 2021


7:30 p.m.


Recurrence: Recurring daily

Presented by: York Symphony Orchestra

Location: Online/Virtual Space


RICHARD STRAUSS Suite in B-Flat Major
ARTHUR BIRD Serenade for Wind Instruments
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK Serenade for Wind Instruments

York Symphony Orchestra’s Digital concerts begin with a livestream premiere followed by 48-hour concert access. Don’t be fooled by the lack of strings, this wind ensemble concert features some of the finest symphonic repertoire ever written. Suite in B-Flat Major famously launched Strauss’ career due to the composition’s lyrical quality and fine craftsmanship that features each wind instrument. Influenced by Mozart’s Wind Serenade, Dvořák composed Serenade for Wind Instruments with a symphonic structure in a distinctly Czech style. Arthur Bird’s Serenade for Wind Instruments earned him the Paderewski Prize as the best chamber work for the work’s resonance and contrasting themes.

Lawrence Golan, Conductor