Back to Previous

Dvorak’s New World

50 N George St, York, PA 17401

February 19, 2022


7:30 p.m.

Tickets start at $10; Under 18 tickets are $10

Presented by: York Symphony Orchestra

Location: Appell Center for the Performing Arts


The York Symphony Orchestra presents the Dvorak’s New World concert with in-person theatre seats and digital access options. Dvorak created his New World symphony to honor America’s musical roots in black spirituals and to challenge popular styles of that era. Premiered in 1943, Duke Ellington orchestrated his Black, Brown & Beige Suite in honor of African American history in three movements: slavery, emancipation, and contemporary history. Principal Trumpet of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra Billy Ray Hunter Jr. performs the popular showpiece, Alexander Arutiunian’s Trumpet Concerto.

DUKE ELLINGTON Black, Brown & Beige Suite
ALEXANDER ARUTIUNIAN Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9 “New World”