Back to Previous

Copland & Bartok: American Voices

50 N George St, York, PA 17401

November 12, 2022


7:30 p.m.

Tickets start at $10, and Under 18 tickets are $10.

Presented by: York Symphony Orchestra

Location: Appell Center for the Performing Arts


The York Symphony Orchestra presents the Copland & Bartok concert with in-person theatre seats and digital access options. This concert showcases the range of all perspectives in the United States. Prolific African-American composer Florence Price arranged Ethiopia’s Shadow in America in the 1930s to honor the experiences of slaves in the United States. Jill Haley, YSO Oboe and English Horn, produced the National Park Suite influenced by her Artist in Residence at six National Parks. Based on Lincoln’s Gettysburg’s address, Aaron Copland moved the listener with his modest yet inspirational portrayal in his iconic Lincoln Portrait. Finally, Bartok’s showpiece Concerto for Orchestra combines his experience of just arriving in America to escape WWII with his Hungarian background of folk music.

Florence Price – Ethiopia’s Shadow in America
Jill Haley – National Parks Suite
Aaron Copland – Lincoln Portrait
Béla Bartók – Concerto for Orchestra

Tickets start at $10, and Under 18 tickets are $10.

You can purchase tickets online or through the Appell Center Box Office. You can visit or call the box office at 717-846-1111. The box office is open Monday-Friday 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. and two hours before a performance.